Since I posted a quick recipe for Sweet Pickled Red Onions earlier, I thought I would show one way I like to use them. This is a take on an appetizer I did as a chef in NYC where we did a lot of happy hour finger-foods for the corporate crowd. I had some leftover Avocado-Quark from a dish I did the other day, so I thought I would put it to good use here.

When most people hear the word “bruschetta” they often associate it with tomato, mozzarella and basil on toast, but the term really only refers to a piece of grilled or toasted bread with olive oil, salt and pepper that is then rubbed with a clove of raw garlic. It makes an excellent base for all sorts of toppings, and you will probably see a couple more variations from me in posts to come.

To make the avocado-quark, you can follow this link for the original recipe, or you can combine quark, mascarpone or ricotta with avocado, olive oil, salt and pepper in a food processor and blend until smooth. Making these little treats are incredibly simple, unless you plan on smoking your own salmon, so I will just give a quick run through on how to assemble them below with a bunch of step-by-step pictures.

Method:

1. Cut a half-inch thick slice of bread. Italian Bread or a nice baguette works well, but almost any bread will do. Try Pumpernickel or Rye as a healthy alternative and good combo with the smoked salmon. Drizzle the bread with olive-oil, salt and pepper and toast or grill the bread.

2. Rub the top of the bread with a clove of raw garlic and spread the avocado-quark over the toast.

3. Cut a slice of salmon to fit the toast and lay on top of the spread. Being in London, I have access to great Scottish smoked salmon that I used.

4. Finish the bruschetta by topping with sweet pickled red onions, sliced chives and freshly ground black pepper. (I love to top this with smoked black pepper, but I haven’t been able to find any over here. If you have some, I would highly recommend the combo, as it goes great with the salmon.)